GenSynth Documentation

Managing Users

GenSynth lets you authenticate users either externally by using an OAuth verification system like GSuite, or internally by having your administrators assign usernames and passwords. This is a global setting. Refer to the Installation Guide.

Managing Users with External OAuth Authentication

In this case, the external OAuth system authenticates the users’ identities. Within GenSynth administrators determine whether users access the system as scientists or administrators.

Logged in as an administrator, choose Users in the administration drop-down to access the User Management screen.

Choose Add User to begin adding a new user to GenSynth. Add the new user’s identity (usually email address)in the Authorize a new user window and choose whether they will have administrative access (Admin) or user access (Scientist).

image49.png

Note

The user must be registered in the OAuth server. Authentication is performed by OAuth, and authorization is granted by a GenSynth administrator.

Click Submit. The new user will appear in the User Management list.

image73.png
Managing Users with Internal Verification

In this case, users are both authenticated and authorized by the GenSynth server.

Logged in as an administrator, choose Users in the administration drop-down to access the User Management screen.

secret_question-documentation.png

Choose Add User to begin adding a new user to GenSynth.

image71.png

Assign the user a username and password and determine whether or not they will have administrative (Admin) or user (Scientist) access. Click Submit.

Note

The username does not have to be an email address. Usernames are not case-sensitive.

The user will appear in the User Management list.

image73.png

Communicate this username and password to the user securely. Users should be encouraged to change their passwords to something more secure and known only to themselves immediately.

Note

Administrators can change user passwords through this screen, should it be necessary.

Removing a User

If you want to remove the user, click on the trash can icon in the Actions column of the User Management page.

Once you have removed a user, the Owner field for any jobs the user may have had will be empty. You can assign these jobs to another team member by choosing one from the Owned By drop-down in the model’s information sidebar.

Changing User Permissions

If you want to change a user’s status from Scientist to Admin or vice versa, click on the user icon in the Actions column in the User Management page.

You can then change the user’s status in the pop-up window and click Submit.

image27.png